The San Mateo County Youth Commission is an advisory commission to the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, established in 1993 to address youth need in the county and provide youth voice in local government. The Commission consists of up to 27 members, between the ages of 13-20, who reside and attend school in San Mateo County. Funded by the County Manager's Office, reporting to the Board of Supervisors, and housed under the Budget, Policy, and Performance Office, the Commission is a collaborative effort of all three San Mateo County serving entities.

How to Join Youth Commission Agendas Youth Commission Meetings

Mission Statement

The Youth Commission strives to address issues affecting youth in San Mateo County and close the gap between adult and youth perspectives. By placing youth in committees and on County Boards and Commissions, the Youth Commission increases awareness of and advocates for youth issues, advises the Board of Supervisors, presents policy recommendations, and creates projects that serve the community.


  • Civic Engagement
  • Education & Economic Development
  • Environmental Justice
  • Health & Wellness
  • Immigrant Youth
  • Transformative Justice

Contact us

John Allan

Program Coordinator

Helen Lei

Program Coordinator

Commission Roster Austin Willis Maram Ahmed Avani Ganesan Aeneas Bufiy Alex Parikh-Briggs Alina Shah Ameya Nori Armaan Khare-Arora Catherine Warden Christian Sbragia Clarissa Wing Hudson Fox Karla Aguilar Katelyn Chang Kevin Chui Laura Wepper Mariah Gutierrez Nicholas Reed Noah Braunstein Penelope Stinson Ryan Teh Sophie Mateja Summer Salas Valeria Chavez-Franco Zara Ahsan Zayne Abraham