Tuesday, Jan 08, 2019
Christa Bigue
  • county board elections

    The San Mateo County Board of Supervisors today chose District Two Supervisor Carole Groom as its 2019 president during its annual reorganization ceremony at which San Mateo Superior Court Presiding Judge Jonathan Karesh swore in her and District Three Supervisor Don Horsley for their new terms.

    “We have big goals for 2019 and with the leadership of County Manager Mike Callagy and our more than 5,000 talented employees we will work to accomplish those goals,” Groom said.

    During the Jan. 8, 2019, meeting the Board also selected Supervisor Warren Slocum as vice president for 2019.

    Groom, whose district includes the cities of Belmont, San Mateo and Foster City, joined the Board in December 2008 and previously served as president in 2011 and 2015. In accepting the presidency, Groom thanked her colleagues for the Board’s accomplishments in 2018 including improvements to Tunitas Creek Beach, early literacy for third-graders, health care access and sea-level rise and flood control. Groom also noted that two issues expected to require large focus in 2019 are the same two that occupied a great deal of 2018: housing and transportation. She thanked voters for passing Measure W, the Board’s joint ballot effort with SamTrans to generate local transportation funds through a half-cent sales tax.

    Outgoing President Dave Pine, whose district includes Burlingame, Hillsborough Millbrae and portions of San Bruno and South San Francisco, said it was a “privilege and a pleasure” to have held the gavel for a second time since he joined the Board in May 2011. He said the County’s strongest assets are its healthy finances and culture of collaboration. He also cited Measure W as a major success of 2018 along with continued funding of affordable housing, the modernization of County facilities and the Board’s promotion of inclusivity that stood in strong opposition to the current White House administration.

    Prior to the Board unanimously choosing Groom and Slocum as president and vice president, Groom and Horsley were sworn into office. Both were re-elected in November.