A special district is an agency of the State formed under general law or a special legislative act to provide governmental services such as sewer, water, fire protection, recreation, healthcare, police protection, mosquito and vector control, and other services. There are three main types of special districts:

  • County-governed special districts are governed by the Board of Supervisors and are operated by the County of San Mateo.
  • Independent special districts have locally elected board members and their own employees.
  • Subsidiary special districts are governed by their respective city councils.

Click on a district name below to open its profile.