Date of Formation: April 14, 1958

Enabling Legislation: Section 4614.1 et seq. of the CA Health and Safety Code

Services Provided: Stormwater collection

Area: 6 square miles

Population: 6,893 (CA Department of Finance 2013)

Sphere of Influence: Status quo

Communities Served: Drainage basin bounded by Atherton Avenue and the City of Menlo Park boundary and extending from Bay Road past Interstate 280, including portions of the Town of Atherton and the City of Menlo Park, small portions of unincorporated Stanford lands, and other minor unincorporated areas

City Council

Atherton Channel Drainage District is governed by the Town of Atherton, which is composed of a five-member city council elected to four-year terms.

Council Member Term Ending
Bill Widmer 2026
Diana Hawkins-Manuelian 2024
Elizabeth Lewis 2024
Rick DeGolia 2026
Stacy Holland 2026

The city council conducts study sessions the first Wednesday of each month at 4:00pm. The city council meets regularly the third Wednesday of every month.

All meetings are held at Holbrook-Palmer Park, 150 Watkins Ave., Atherton, CA 94027.

Meeting time is 7:00 pm unless otherwise noted in the agenda. Future agendas are posted at least 72 hours prior to regular meetings and 24 hours prior to special meetings.

Atherton Channel Drainage District Map
Contact Information
Atherton Channel Drainage District
Town of Atherton, Public Works
93 Station Lane
Atherton, CA 94027Get Directions
Monday - Friday:
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed from 11:00 until 13:00
Saturday - Sunday:
Contact Information
General Inquiries: (650) 752-0541 Phone: (650) 752-0555 Fax: (650) 752-0541 Email: