Deadline for homeowners and renters to apply is March 16, 2023
January 30, 2023
  • Redwood City – Homeowners and renters in San Mateo County with damage or losses due to the series of New Year’s storms can apply for federal disaster assistance.

    Disaster assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs as well as other serious disaster-related needs such as medical and dental expenses, transportation, childcare and moving and storage expenses. The deadline to apply is March 16, 2023.

    U.S. Reps. Anna Eshoo and Kevin Mullin jointly announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency will provide disaster assistance. Local officials thanked the Peninsula’s congressional representatives for securing the relief.

    “Flooding, mudslides and power outages damaged many homes across San Mateo County,” said Dave Pine, president of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors. “I am grateful to Reps. Eshoo and Mullin for their efforts to secure this FEMA assistance, and encourage everyone who is eligible to apply for this much-needed aid.”

    Disaster-related assistance may include: 

    • Rental payments for temporary housing for those whose homes are unlivable;
    • Grants for home repairs and replacement of essential household items;
    • Unemployment payments for workers who temporarily lost jobs because of the disaster and do not qualify for state benefits (self-employed);
    • Low-interest loans to cover residential losses not fully compensated by insurance;
    • Crisis counseling for those traumatized by the disaster; or
    • Advisory assistance for legal veterans’ benefits and social security matters.

    To apply, FEMA provides the following guidance for homeowners and renters:

    If you have insurance, first file a claim with your insurance provider. FEMA provides assistance to applicants for your uninsured or underinsured disaster-caused expenses and serious needs. FEMA assistance cannot aid with losses already covered by insurance.

    There are several ways that you can apply for FEMA assistance:

    • Visit
    • Download the FEMA mobile app
    • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. Help is available in many languages. If you use video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service. Helpline operators speak many languages and lines are open daily. Press 2 for Spanish. Press 3 for an interpreter who speaks your language.
    • For an accessible video on how to apply, go to

    The County on Jan. 3, 2023, declared a local disaster due to the storms and flooding. 

    Due to the amount of local damage, San Mateo County has been added to the major disaster declaration for California’s severe storms and flooding.

    The declaration allows FEMA to provide direct support to individuals and households in nine counties: Calaveras, Merced, Monterey, Sacramento, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara and Santa Cruz.

    The County’s Department of Emergency Management is no longer asking residents to fill out a survey on storm-related losses.

    Media Contact

    Michelle Durand
    Chief Communications Officer