The San Mateo Operational Area Emergency Services Organization (Emergency Services Council)

The San Mateo Operational Area Emergency Services Council is comprised of all local governments within the geographic area of the County, special districts, unincorporated areas, and participating non-governmental entities. The purpose of the organization is to operate pursuant to Presidential Directive 5, the National Response Framework, National Incident Management System (NIMS), Presidential Directive 8, the National Preparedness Goal and California's Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS) and local adopted Emergency Operations Plans and Annexes. The Emergency Services Councils collective goal is to provide coordinated plans for the protection of persons and property based on the five phases of emergency management, prevention, protection, response, recovery and mitigation; and support existing regional Public Information and Notification systems to include SMC Alert and TENS, as well as other Situational Awareness Tools; and, to continue to support the regional hazardous materials emergency response program.


Upcoming ESC Meetings

 Previous ESC Meeting Archive


Most Recent Council Meeting


Emergency Services Council

City Council Member


Bill Widmer


Davina Hurt


Karen Cunningham


Ann Keighran


Diana Colvin

Daly City

Glen Sylvester

East Palo Alto

Lisa Gauthier

Foster City

Jon Froomin

Half Moon Bay

Deborah Penrose


Marie Chuang

Menlo Park

Cecilia Taylor


Ann Schneider


Sue Vaterlaus

Portola Valley

John Richards

Redwood City

Lissette Espinoza Garnica

San Bruno

Rico Medina

San Carlos

John Dugan

San Mateo

Joe Goethals

South San Francisco

Eddie Flores


Sean Scott

County of San Mateo

David Canepa