In 2005, the Domestic Violence Council established the Hammerman Award, ratified by the Board of Supervisors of San Mateo County, for the purpose of recognizing outstanding law enforcement officers for their contribution and service to survivors of domestic violence and their children. In 2009 the award was expanded to include professionals who provide services to victims of domestic violence.

The Hammerman Award was created in honor of the late Barbara Hammerman, a City of San Mateo Police Lieutenant, whose legacy of exemplary service and dedication to survivors of domestic violence serves as a model for the County’s law enforcement community.

This award is presented annually to one person for exceptional service in addressing domestic violence.

Previous Awardees

Year Awardee Agency
2022 Melissa Gibbs Community Overcoming Relationship Abuse (CORA)
2021 Rose Mukhar Justice At Last
2020 Captain Christina Corpus SMC Sheriff's Office
2019 Lori Smiley-Klingler SMC Probation
2018 Corporal Rebecca Dabney SSF Police Dept

Detectives Ryan Michael Monaghan and Steve Stump

San Mateo Police Dept
2015 Detective Laura Sharp San Mateo Police Dept
2014 Karen Guidotti District Attorney's Office
2013 Lynda Burton Legal Aid Society of SMC

Detectives Andrew Armando and John Kovach

DV Firearms Compliance Unit

SMC Sheriff's Office
2011 Judy King CORA
2010 Officer Carlos Basurto San Mateo  Police Dept
2009 Elaine Tipton District Attorney's Office
2008 Detective Sergeant Linda Gibbons SMC Sheriff's Office
2007 Lieutenant Roy Benton Varney SSF Police Dept
2006 Officer Rhonda Liepelt Redwood City Police Dept
2005 Lieutenant Barbara Hammerman San Mateo Police Dept


Barbara Hammerman Award Nomination Form

one hand clasping another's hand

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2023 Barbara Hammerman Award! Please download a Nomination form for detailed instructions and what to submit.

Deadline to submit nominations is Monday, August 14 by the end of day.

Questions? Email Tanya Beat, tbeat@smcgov.org.

Nomination Form


  • Nominees for the Hammerman Award may be any sworn law enforcement officer or other domestic violence service professional working in San Mateo County without regard to race, color, nationality, sexual orientation, disability, or religious or political affiliation.
  • Individuals and organizations may submit nominations to the Domestic Violence Council via email, tbeat@smcgov.org. 
  • The official nomination form (or photocopy) must be used.  Additional unsolicited information will not be considered.
  • The Selection Panel will be composed of prominent members of law enforcement, the judiciary, and the domestic violence advocacy community.
  • Awards may be posthumous.
  • Please note whether any information contained in this nomination form concerns an individual case that is currently active in the judicial system.
  • The award recipient will be announced in October during Domestic Violence Prevention Month.
  • The award will be accompanied by a $500 honorarium.