Date of Formation: October 2, 1939

Enabling Legislation: Section 9000 et seq. of the CA Public Resources Code

Services Provided: Policy direction, information about local agriculture, technical assistance, and rental of specialized equipment for Soil Conservation Service activities.

Area: 245 square miles

Population:  To be provided by District

Sphere of Influence: Status quo (boundaries of 1987)

Communities Served: Portions of Daly City, Colma, South San Francisco, Pacifica, San Bruno, Montara, Moss Beach, and Half Moon Bay, plus areas of unincorporated San Mateo County and all San Mateo County watersheds that drain into the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary

Board of Directors

San Mateo County Resource Conservation District is governed by a five-member board of directors appointed by the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors to four-year terms. The district derives its powers and purpose from state law and functions independently of county government.

Board Member Term Ending
Adrienne Etherton 2023
Barbara Kossy 2022
Michelle Weil 2024
Rudy Espinoza-Murray 2022
Steve Stielstra 2024

The board of directors meets regularly the third Thursday of every month.

All meetings are held at the District Office, 80 Stone Pine Road, Suite 100, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019.

Meeting time is 4:00 pm unless otherwise noted in the agenda. Future agendas are posted at least 72 hours prior to regular meetings and 24 hours prior to special meetings.

Resource Conservation
Contact Information
San Mateo Resource Conservation District
District Office:
80 Stone Pine Road, Suite 100
Half Moon Bay, CA 94019Get Directions
Contact Information
General Inquiries: (650) 712-7765 Phone: (650) 712-7765 Fax: (650) 726-0494 Email: Email: