For Immediate Release

January 29, 2018

Announcement of Recruitment of Public Member and Alternate Public Member

Applications for Public Member and Alternate Public Member of the San Mateo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) are now being accepted.

LAFCos were created by the State Legislature to make decisions on the boundaries and organization of the cities and special districts in each county of the State. San Mateo LAFCo is an independent commission composed of two members of the Board of Supervisors chosen by the Board, two members of city councils chosen by the mayors of the 20 cities in San Mateo County, two members of independent special district boards chosen by the presiding officers of the independent special districts in the County, and the Public Member appointed by the other six commissioners. Each member category has an Alternate.

The Commission meets on the third Wednesday of odd-numbered months at 2:30 pm in the Board of Supervisors’ Chambers at 400 County Center, Redwood City. Additional special meetings may also be held as needed.

To be eligible to serve as Public Member or Alternate Public Member, a person must be a resident of San Mateo County and may not be an officer or employee of the County, or of a city or special district with territory in the County. The term of office for both the Regular Public Member and Alternate Public Member begins May 2018 and expires May 2022.

The deadline for receipt of applications is Monday, April 16, 2018. For more information, please contact Martha Poyatos, Executive Officer, 455 County Center, 2nd Floor, Redwood City, CA 94063, at (650) 363-4224, or by email at

The application is available below in various formats.