



<u>REGULAR MEETING</u> Minutes

Thursday, September 28, 2023 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM The meeting was held on Zoom and in-person at 455 County Center Building, Room 101, First Floor, Redwood City, CA 94063.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 6:01 p.m.
- Roll Call: Abraham, Agarwal, Braunstein (joined later), Budhani, Chan, Chen, Chowdhary, Escobar, Handel (joined later), Ho, Kothari (joined later), Lau, Liu (joined later), Mishra, Ordonez, Ryono, Sardana (joined later), A. Shah (joined later), R. Shah, Shroff, Watson, Zhao, and Zou were present. Nori was absent. A quorum was present.
- 3. **Public Comment:** There were no public comments given.
- 4. M: Watson // S: Chen to approve the agenda. The motion passed unanimously.
- 5. M: Budhani // S: Zhao to Approve the Minutes (as attached)
- 6. Boards and Commissions Liaison Presentation & Networking:

The Commission on the Status of Women, Commission on Disabilities, Domestic Violence Council, Farmworkers Advisory Commission, Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Commissions, First 5 San Mateo County, Behavioral Health Commission, and the Commission on Aging presented on their respective boards and commissions. Ms. Helen Lei, Staff, announced that Youth Commissioners will have the opportunity to serve as liaisons to these commissions.

- 7. M: A. Shah // S: Zhao to form an Ad Hoc Subcommittee for Redwood City Road Safety Discussion. Approved unanimously.
 - a. Commissioner Escobar introduced an initiative to improve the safety of Redwood City roads.
- 8. Nominations for Communication Officer were held:
 - a. M: Watson // S: Chan moved the nomination of Commissioner Watson for Secretary.
 - b. M: Zou // S: Ryono moved the nomination of Commissioner Zou for Secretary.
 - c. M: A. Shah // S: Sardana moved the nomination of Commissioner Alina Shah for Secretary.
 - d. M: Braunstein // S: Chen moved the nomination of Commissioner Braunstein for Secretary.

e. Votes were held on these nominations. Commissioner Alina Shah was elected as Secretary. The roll call vote (Roll Call Vote 1) is attached.

9. Nominations for Secretary were held:

- a. M: Agarwal // S: Handel to nominate Commissioner Watson for Secretary.
- b. M: Zou // S: A. Shah to nominate Commissioner Zou for Secretary.
- c. Votes were held on these nominations. Commissioner Watson was elected as Secretary. The roll call vote (Roll Call Vote 2) is attached.
- 10. **Announcements:** The next Workgroup meeting will be on October 12th at 6 pm. Business cards are available for Youth Commissioners. A reception will be held for boards and commissions in November. Commissioner Chowdhary reminded commissioners to send in their Media Releases. All ad hoc subcommittees should have chairs and vice chairs, as well as external meetings.

Meeting adjourned at 7:52 P.M. Next Meeting: October 12, 2023

Roll Call Vote 1: Nominating Vote for Secretary

The following were the nominees: Watson, Zou, A. Shah, Braunstein.

Commissioner Abraham: A. Shah Commissioner Agarwal: Abstain Commissioner Braunstein: Braunstein Commissioner Budhani: A. Shah Commissioner Chan: A. Shah Commissioner Chavez-Franco: Absent Commissioner Chen: Watson Commissioner Chowdhary: Abstain Commissioner Escobar: Zou Commissioner Handel: Zou Commissioner Ho: Zou Commissioner Kothari: A. Shah Commissioner Lau: A. Shah Commissioner Liu: Braunstein Commissioner Mishra: A. Shah Commissioner Nori: Absent Commissioner Ordonez: Braunstein Commissioner Ryono: A. Shah Commissioner Sardana: A. Shah Commissioner Alina Shah: A. Shah Commissioner Rikhav Shah: A. Shah Commissioner Shroff: Watson Commissioner Watson: A. Shah Commissioner Zhao: Braunstein Commissioner Zou: Zou

Roll Call Vote 1: Nominating Vote for Secretary

The following were the nominees: Watson, Zou

Commissioner Abraham: Watson Commissioner Agarwal: Watson Commissioner Braunstein: Zou Commissioner Budhani: Watson Commissioner Chan: Watson Commissioner Chavez-Franco: Absent Commissioner Chen: Watson Commissioner Chowdhary: Watson Commissioner Escobar: Zou Commissioner Handel: Watson Commissioner Ho: Zou Commissioner Kothari: Zou Commissioner Lau: Watson Commissioner Liu: Watson Commissioner Mishra: Watson Commissioner Nori: Absent Commissioner Ordonez: Watson Commissioner Ryono: Zou Commissioner Sardana: Watson Commissioner Alina Shah: Zou Commissioner Rikhav Shah: Watson Commissioner Shroff: Watson Commissioner Watson: Watson Commissioner Zhao: Watson Commissioner Zou: Zou