The San Mateo Operational Area Emergency Services Organization (Emergency Services Council)

The San Mateo Operational Area Emergency Services Council is comprised of all local governments within the geographic area of the County, special districts, unincorporated areas, and participating non-governmental entities. The purpose of the organization is to operate pursuant to Presidential Directive 5, the National Response Framework, National Incident Management System (NIMS), Presidential Directive 8, the National Preparedness Goal and California's Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS) and local adopted Emergency Operations Plans and Annexes. The Emergency Services Councils collective goal is to provide coordinated plans for the protection of persons and property based on the five phases of emergency management, prevention, protection, response, recovery and mitigation; and support existing regional Public Information and Notification systems to include SMC Alert and TENS, as well as other Situational Awareness Tools; and, to continue to support the regional hazardous materials emergency response program.

Meetings Location
Regular Meetings
Quarterly on the 3rd Thursday of the Month

In Person
501 Winslow Street, Floor 1
Redwood City CA 94063

Council Meeting Agendas and Minutes 2023
Meeting Date Agenda Zoom Information Minutes Supporting Material Video

October 19, 2023 (CANCELED)

June 15, 2023 Agenda PDF Zoom Link

Meeting ID:
998 6959 0056
+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
  YouTube Video
May 4, 2023 Agenda PDF

Zoom Link

Meeting ID:
998 6959 0056
+1 669 900 6833


YouTube Video

April 20, 2023 -
January 26, 2023 Agenda PDF       YouTube Video

NOTE: Archived meeting agendas and minutes are available at the bottom of this page.

Emergency Services Council Roster
City Council Member


Diana Hawkins-Manuelian


Davina Hurt


Terry O'Connell


Peter Stevenson


Carrie Slaughter

Daly City

Glen Sylvester

East Palo Alto

Lisa Gauthier

Foster City

Jon Froomin

Half Moon Bay

Deborah Penrose


Marie Chuang

Menlo Park

Cecilia Taylor


Ann Schneider


Sue Vaterlaus

Portola Valley

Craig Taylor

Redwood City

Kaia Eakin

San Bruno

Vice Chair, Rico Medina

San Carlos

John Dugan

San Mateo

Robert Newsom

South San Francisco

Eddie Flores


Sean Scott

County of San Mateo

Chair, Warren Slocum

Most Recent Council Meeting - coming soon 

Archived Meeting Agendas and Minutes