

## Date

Honorable Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Chair Assembly Local Government Committee California State Assembly 1021 O Street, Room Suite 6350 Sacramento, CA 95814

Subject: SUPPORT of AB 2957: Local Government Committee Omnibus Bill

Dear Chair Aguiar-Curry:

The San Mateo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) is pleased to support the Assembly Local Government Committee Bill AB 2957, sponsored by the California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions (CALAFCO), which makes technical, non-substantive changes to the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (the Act).

This annual bill includes technical changes to the Act which governs the work of LAFCos. These changes are necessary as Commissions implement the Act and small inconsistencies are found or clarifications are needed to make the law as unambiguous as possible. AB 2957 makes minor technical corrections to language used in the Act. San Mateo LAFCo is grateful to your Committee members and staff, and CALAFCO, all of whom worked diligently on this language to ensure there are no substantive changes while creating a significant increase in the clarity of the Act for all stakeholders.

This legislation helps ensure the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Act remains a vital and practical law that is consistently applied around the state. We appreciate your Committee's authorship and support of this bill, and your support of the mission of LAFCos.

Sincerely,

Rob Bartoli Interim Executive Officer

Cc: Senator Scott Weiner, District 11 Senator Josh Becker, District 13 Assembly Member Phil Ting, District 19 Assembly Member Kevin Mullin, District 22 Assembly Member Marc Berman, District 24 Members, Assembly Local Government Committee Jimmy MacDonald, Consultant, Assembly Local Government Committee William Weber, Consultant, Assembly Republican Caucus Rene LaRoche, Executive Director, CALAFCO

COMMISSIONERS: MIKE O'NEILL, CHAIR, CITY - ANN DRAPER, VICE CHAIR, PUBLIC - HARVEY RARBACK, CITY - DON HORSLEY, COUNTY

• WARREN SLOCUM, COUNTY • JOSHUA COSGROVE, SPECIAL DISTRICT • RIC LOHMAN, SPECIAL DISTRICT

**ALTERNATES:** KATI MARTIN, SPECIAL DISTRICT • DIANA REDDY, CITY • JAMES O'NEILL, PUBLIC • DAVE PINE, COUNTY

ROB BARTOLI, INTERIM EXECUTIVE OFFICER • TIM FOX, LEGAL COUNSEL• ANGELA MONTES, CLERK