

March 15, 2018

To: LAFCo Commissioners

From: Martha Poyatos, Executive Officer

Subject: Appointment of Public Member Recruitment Committee

Government Code Section 56325 sets forth that the Commission shall consist of seven members selected as follows: two members appointed by the Board of Supervisors, two members selected by the Council of Mayors, two members selected by the presidents of the independent special districts, and one member of the public selected by the other members of the Commission.

The term of office for both the current Regular Public Member and Alternate Public Member ends May 2018. The upcoming term begins May 2018 and expires May 2022. A recruitment announcement was published and circulated on January 29 with an application deadline of April 16.

The Commission's policies on appointment of public members and alternate public members provide for a recruitment committee of three Commissioners. It is therefore requested that the Commission appoint a recruitment committee that would review applications and interview applicants between April 17, 2018 and the May 16, 2018 LAFCo meeting, at which they would make their recommendation to the Commission.

COMMISSIONERS: MIKE O'NEILL, CHAIR, City • ANN DRAPER, VICE CHAIR, Public • JOSHUA COSGROVE, Special District • RICH GARBARINO, City

DON HORSLEY, County - JOE SHERIDAN, Special District - WARREN SLOCUM, County

ALTERNATES: KATI MARTIN, Special District • HARVEY RARBACK, City • SEPI RICHARDSON, Public • DAVE PINE, County

STAFF: MARTHA POYATOS, EXECUTIVE OFFICER • REBECCA ARCHER, LEGAL COUNSEL • JEAN BROOK, COMMISSION CLERK