

March 14, 2018

To: LAFCo Commissioners

From: Martha Poyatos, Executive Officer

Subject: Consideration of Adoption of Policy Language Regarding Water Resiliency and

Climate Change

Background

At the January 21, 2018 Commission meeting, the Legislative and Policy Committee recommended policy language to address water resiliency and climate change. Following minor amendments to the draft language, the policies were posted on the LAFCo website and circulated to the cities and special districts for review. The Committee recommended that comments arising from the review be considered prior to adoption by the Commission. No written comments have been received as of the writing of this report. The policies revised at the January 21, 2018 meeting are as follows:

Safe, adequate, reliable, and resilient water supplies are fundamental to the County. The Commission supports governance models that enhance and provide a more robust water supply capacity (including – but not limited to – recycling, desalination, and stormwater recapture) in the County. The Commission will consider how water-related requests for sphere of influence, boundary, or service modification affect the Commission's interests.

Resiliency to climate change is important to the health, safety, and economic prosperity of the County. The Commission supports multi-agency collaboration and governance models that provide risk reduction solutions that address sea level rise and other measures to adapt to climate change.

Recommendation

Following opportunity for public comment at the March 21 Commission meeting, staff recommends that the Commission consider adoption of the policy language to be added to LAFCo's legislative policies and procedures related to sphere of influence reviews and updates, municipal service reviews, and boundary change applications.

COMMISSIONERS: MIKE O'NEILL, CHAIR, City • ANN DRAPER, VICE CHAIR, Public • JOSHUA COSGROVE, Special District • RICH GARBARINO, City

DON HORSLEY, County - JOE SHERIDAN, Special District - WARREN SLOCUM, County

ALTERNATES: KATI MARTIN, Special District • HARVEY RARBACK, City • SEPI RICHARDSON, Public • DAVE PINE, County

STAFF: MARTHA POYATOS, EXECUTIVE OFFICER • REBECCA ARCHER, LEGAL COUNSEL • JEAN BROOK, COMMISSION CLERK