

November 8, 2017

To:

LAFCo Commissioners

From:

Martha Poyatos, Executive Officer

Subject:

Appointment of Budget and Legislative/Policy Committees for 2018

This staff report requests that the Commission appoint members to serve on the Budget and Legislative/Policy Committees. Both committees typically have three members representing the each type of LAFCo membership: County, City, Special District, and Public.

U Royals

The Budget Committee provides direction to staff in preparation of the Commission's budget for the 2017-18 fiscal year. This committee meets once prior to the March meeting and once before the May meeting. In addition, it may be necessary to meet prior to the September meeting to address budget revisions that might result due to the difference between the estimated fund balance in the May budget versus the actual fund balance after the close of the fiscal year.

The Legislative/Policy Committee provides direction to staff on pending legislation affecting LAFCos, reviews existing Commission policies, proposes new policies, and meets as often as once or twice a month as needed. At times, the Committee may meet to discuss pending legislation and provide direction on a bill that merits a position letter outside of the regular Commission meeting cycle. In these cases, the Committee takes positions based on the adopted San Mateo LAFCo legislative policies.

COMMISSIONERS: DON HORSLEY, CHAIR, County • MIKE O'NEILL, VICE CHAIR, City • JOSHUA COSGROVE, Special District • ANN DRAPER, Public

RICH GARBARINO, City - JOE SHERIDAN, Special District - WARREN SLOCUM, County

ALTERNATES: KATI MARTIN, Special District • HARVEY RARBACK, City • SEPI RICHARDSON, Public • DAVE PINE, County

STAFF: MARTHA POYATOS, EXECUTIVE OFFICER • REBECCA ARCHER, LEGAL COUNSEL • JEAN BROOK, COMMISSION CLERK