SAN MATEO COUNTY CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Sue Vaterlaus, Chairperson Regina Wallace-Jones, Vice Chairperson

Sukhmani S. Purewal, Secretary 400 County Center Redwood City, 94063 650-363-1802

TO: MAYORS OF SAN MATEO COUNTY

FROM: SUKHMANI S. PUREWAL, SECRETARY

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 9, 2021 SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

FINAL MINUTES

Due to COVID19, the meeting was held virtually via Zoom and was called to order by Councilmember Sue Vaterlaus, Chairperson of the San Mateo County City Selection Committee at 2:35 p.m. on **Tuesday, February 9, 2021**.

 Roll Call – The following cities/towns were present: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Absent: None

2) Discussion and possible action on voting procedures including, but not limited to, the potential of voting by roll call

It was unanimously decided by the members to vote using the chat option in the Zoom meeting. If there are technical issues, the voting members can text or call the clerk to cast their vote. It was also recommended by the Chair that snapshot of the chat can be taken by the Clerk in case the votes need to be recounted or if the votes are contested in the future.

- Selection of one (1) Councilmember to serve on the San Mateo County Transit District (SamTrans) representing *Northern Cities (Eligible cities: Brisbane, Colma, Daly City, Pacifica, San Bruno, and South San Francisco)*, fulfilling the remaining term of Karyl Matsumoto through December 31, 2022
 - i. Mayor Juslyn Manalo, City of Daly City, is seeking appointment
 - ii. Mayor Rico Medina, City of San Bruno, is seeking appointment

Each Mayor or Proxy voted for one candidate via private chat with the Secretary on Zoom.

VOTE RESULTS*

Rico Medina
Appointed
Atherton
Belmont
Brisbane
East Palo Alto
Foster City
Hillsborough
Millbrae
Portola Valley
Redwood City
San Bruno
South San Francisco
Woodside

Burlingame Colma Daly City Half Moon Bay Menlo Park Pacifica San Carlos San Mateo

Juslyn Manalo

* To be appointed, majority of eleven (11) votes are needed. Rico Medina, City of San Bruno received the majority and was appointed.

4) Oral Communications and Announcements

None

The meeting was adjourned at 2:57 p.m.