SAN MATEO COUNTY

CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Sue Vaterlaus, Chairperson Regina Wallace-Jones, Vice Chairperson

Sukhmani S. Purewal, Secretary 400 County Center Redwood City, 94063 650-363-1802

TO: MAYORS OF SAN MATEO COUNTY

FROM: SUKHMANI S. PUREWAL, SECRETARY

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF JANUARY 29, 2021 CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING

FINAL MINUTES

Due to COVID19, the meeting was held virtually via Zoom and was called to order by Councilmember Sue Vaterlaus, Chairperson of the San Mateo County City Selection Committee at **6:39 p.m.** on **Friday**, **January 29, 2021**.

 Roll Call – The following cities/towns were present: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Absent: None

- 2) Approval of the following minutes:
 - i. Regular City Selection Committee meeting of December 18, 2020; and
 - ii. Special City Selection Committee meeting of January 5, 2021.

Motion: Redwood City **Second:** Belmont

Ayes (20): Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood

City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None Absent: None

- 3) Selection of one (1) Councilmember to serve as an Alternate member on the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) representing *Cities (All Cities are eligible)*, fulfilling the remaining term of Carlos Romero through June 30, 2021.
 - i. Vice Mayor Richa Awasthi, City of Foster City, is seeking appointment

ii. Councilmember Anders Fung, City of Millbrae, is seeking appointment

Councilmember Anders Fung, Millbrae withdrew his nomination.

Motion to appoint Richa Awasthi: Foster City

Second: East Palo Alto

Ayes (20): Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood

City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None Absent: None

4) Selection of one (1) Councilmember from City Selection Committee to be nominated to fill Association of Bay Area Governments' (ABAG's) South Bay representative position on the San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission (*only Redwood City, Menlo Park and East Palo Alto are eligible*), for a term of two years ending December 31 of second year of appointment OR ends when appointee ceases to hold elected office. *Note*: Nomination will be forwarded to ABAG President Jesse Arreguin, who will invite selected candidates from either Alameda County, Santa Clara County, or San Mateo County to interview.

Motion to nominate Regina Wallace-Jones, East Palo Alto: Pacifica

Second: San Carlos

Ayes (20): Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None Absent: None

- 5) Selection of one (1) Councilmember to serve on the San Mateo County Transit District (SamTrans) representing *Northern Cities (Eligible cities: Brisbane, Colma, Daly City, Pacifica, San Bruno, and South San Francisco)*, fulfilling the remaining term of Karyl Matsumoto through December 31, 2022
 - i. Mayor Juslyn Manalo, City of Daly City, is seeking appointment
 - ii. Mayor Rico Medina, City of San Bruno, is seeking appointment

Each Mayor or Proxy voted for one candidate via private chat with the Secretary on Zoom.

VOTE RESULTS * **	
Rico Medina Appointed	Juslyn Manalo
Atherton Belmont East Palo Alto	Brisbane Burlingame Daly City

Foster City
Half Moon Bay
Hillsborough
Millbrae
Portola Valley
Redwood City
San Bruno
Woodside

Menlo Park
Pacifica
San Carlos
San Mateo
South San Francisco

Colma Abstained due to technical issues.

- * To be appointed, majority of eleven (11) votes are needed. Rico Medina, City of San Bruno received the majority and was appointed.
- "These results were later contested, and a special meeting was held on February 9, 2021 to recast the votes.
- 6) Selection of three (3) Councilmembers to serve on the Housing Endowment and Regional Trust (HEART) representing *Cities (All Cities are eligible)* for a term of three (3) years beginning March 1, 2021 through February 29, 2024.
 - i. Councilmember Sam Hindi, City of Foster City, is seeking reappointment
 - ii. Vice Mayor Sara McDowell, City of San Carlos, is seeking reappointment
 - iii. Vice Mayor Rick Bonilla, City of San Mateo, is seeking reappointment

Motion to reappoint Sam Hindi, Sara McDowell, and Rick Bonilla: Millbrae

Second: San Carlos

Ayes (20): Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None Absent: None

- 7) Selection of one (1) Councilmember to serve as an Alternate member on the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) representing *Cities (All Cities are eligible)*, fulfilling the remaining term of Harvey Rarback through 1st Monday in May 2023.
 - i. Councilmember Diana Reddy, City of Redwood City, is seeking appointment

Motion to appoint Diana Reddy: Belmont

Second: South San Francisco

Ayes (20): Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None Absent: None

8)	Oral Communications and Announcements

None

The meeting was adjourned at 7:09 p.m.