SAN MATEO COUNTY CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Glenn R. Sylvester, Chairperson Sue Vaterlaus, Vice Chairperson

Sukhmani S. Purewal, Secretary 400 County Center Redwood City, 94063 650-363-1802

TO: MAYORS OF SAN MATEO COUNTY

FROM: SUKHMANI S. PUREWAL, SECRETARY

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF DECEMBER 20, 2019 CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING

FINAL MINUTES

Meeting was called to order by Mayor Glenn Sylvester, Chairperson of the San Mateo County City Selection Committee at **6:21 p.m.** on **Friday, December 20, 2019**, at Colma Fire House, 50 Reiner Street, Colma, CA 94014.

 Roll Call – The following cities/towns were present: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Absent: Menlo Park

2) Approval of the minutes for the meeting of October 25, 2019

Motion: South San Francisco
Second: Atherton
Ayes: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside
Noes: None
Absent: Menlo Park

- Selection of one (1) Council Member to serve on the Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD) representing *Cities* for a term of two (2) years beginning January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2021
 - *i.* Mayor Davina Hurt, City of Belmont, is seeking reappointment

Motion to reappoint Davina Hurt: BelmontSecond: San MateoAyes: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City,

Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and WoodsideNoes: NoneAbsent: Menlo Park

- Selection of one (1) Council Member to serve on the California Identification System (CAL-ID) representing *Cities* for a term of three (3) years beginning January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2022
 - i. Vice Mayor Glenn R. Sylvester, City of Daly City, is seeking reappointment

Motion to reappoint Glenn R. Sylvester: San Mateo Second: Burlingame Ayes: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside Noes: None Absent: Menlo Park

- Selection of one (1) Council Member to serve on the San Mateo County Transportation Authority (SMCTA) representing *Cities* for a term of two (2) years beginning January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2021
 - *i.* Vice Mayor Emily Beach, City of Burlingame, is seeking reappointment

City of Menlo Park arrived at 6:27 p.m.

Motion to reappoint Emily Beach: Millbrae

Second: South San Francisco
Ayes: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside
Noes: None
Absent: None

- 6) Selection of one (1) Council Member to serve on the San Mateo County Transportation Authority (SMCTA) representing *Northern Cities (Eligible Cities: Brisbane, Colma, Daly City, Pacifica, San Bruno, and South San Francisco)* for a term of two (2) years beginning January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2021
 - i. Mayor Rico E. Medina, City of San Bruno, is seeking reappointment
 - ii. Council Member Cliff Lentz, City of Brisbane, is seeking appointment

Councilmember Cliff Lentz withdrew his nomination.

Mayor Warren Lieberman from Belmont, Councilmember Elizabeth Lewis from Atherton, and Mayor Glenn R. Sylvester from Daly City complimented both Mayor Rico Medina and Councilmember Cliff Lentz for their hard work on several issues and their professionalism.

Motion to reappoint Rico E. Medina: Burlingame
Second: San Mateo
Ayes: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside
Noes: None
Absent: None

- 7) Election of a Chairperson to the City Selection Committee for 2020 (Note: Candidates must be a current Mayor or Council Member)
 - i. Mayor Sue Vaterlaus, City of Pacifica, is seeking appointment

Motion to appoint Sue Vaterlaus: Daly City

Second: Portola Valley
Ayes: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside
Noes: None
Absent: None

8) Election of a Vice Chairperson to the City Selection Committee for 2020 (Note: Candidates must be a current Mayor or Council Member)

Councilmember Janet Borgens, Redwood City was nominated from the floor.

Mayor Regina Wallace-Jones, East Palo Alto was nominated from the floor.

VOTE RESULTS*

Regina Wallace-Jones Appointed	Janet Borgens
Atherton	Millbrae
Belmont	Pacifica
Brisbane	Redwood City
Burlingame	San Carlos
Colma	
Daly City	
East Palo Alto	
Foster City	
Half Moon Bay	

Hillsborough Menlo Park Portola Valley San Bruno San Mateo South San Francisco Woodside

* To be appointed, majority of eleven (11) votes are needed. Mayor Regina Wallace-Jones, City of East Palo Alto received sixteen (16) votes and was appointed.

9) Oral Communications and Announcements

None

The meeting was adjourned at 6:49 p.m.