SAN MATEO COUNTY

CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Glenn R. Sylvester, Chairperson Sue Vaterlaus, Vice Chairperson

Sukhmani S. Purewal, Secretary 400 County Center Redwood City, 94063 650-363-1802

TO: MAYORS OF SAN MATEO COUNTY

FROM: SUKHMANI S. PUREWAL, SECRETARY

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF JUNE 28, 2019 CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING

FINAL MINUTES

Vice Mayor Glenn Sylvester, Chairperson of the San Mateo County City Selection Committee called the meeting to order at **6:17 p.m.** on **Friday, June 28, 2019**, at Domenico Winery, 1697 Industrial Road, San Carlos, CA 94070.

1) Roll Call – The following cities/towns were present: Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Absent: Atherton, Colma, Menlo Park, and San Mateo.

2) Approval of the minutes for the meeting of April 26, 2019:

Motion: Millbrae

Second: East Palo Alto

Ayes: Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, South

San Francisco, and Woodside

Noes: None

Absent: Atherton, Colma, Menlo Park, and San Mateo

- 3) Selection of two (2) Council Members to serve on the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) representing *Cities* for a term of two (2) years beginning July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2021.
 - i. Mayor Wayne Lee, City of Millbrae, is seeking reappointment
 - ii. Vice Mayor Rich Garbarino, City of South San Francisco, is seeking reappointment

Motion to reappoint Mayor Wayne Lee and Vice Mayor Rich Garbarino: Brisbane

Second: San Bruno

Ayes: Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay,

Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, South San Francisco, and Woodside

Noes: None

Absent: Atherton, Colma, Menlo Park, and San Mateo

- 4) Selection of two (2) Council Members to serve on the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) as *Alternate Members* representing *Cities* for a term of two (2) years beginning July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2021.
 - i. Council Member Carlos Romero, City of East Palo Alto, is seeking reappointment

Nomination was accepted from the floor by Chair Sylvester for Mayor Sam Hindi, Foster City.

Motion to reappoint Council Member Carlos Romero and appoint Mayor Sam Hindi:

Millbrae

Second: Pacifica

Ayes: Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, South San Francisco, and Woodside

Noes: None

Absent: Atherton, Colma, Menlo Park, and San Mateo

5) Oral Communications and Announcements

None

The meeting was adjourned at 6:23 p.m.