SAN MATEO COUNTY CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Glenn R. Sylvester, Chairperson Sue Vaterlaus, Vice Chairperson

Sukhmani S. Purewal, Secretary 400 County Center Redwood City, 94063 650-363-1802

TO: MAYORS OF SAN MATEO COUNTY

FROM: SUKHMANI S. PUREWAL, SECRETARY

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF MARCH 14, 2019 CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING

FINAL MINUTES

Vice Mayor Glenn Sylvester, Chairperson of the San Mateo County City Selection Committee called for a meeting of the Committee at **4:00 p.m.** on **Thursday, March 14, 2019**, at Board of Supervisors Chambers, Hall of Justice, 400 County Center Redwood City, CA 94063.

Meeting was called to order by Mayor Sue Vaterlaus, Vice Chairperson of the San Mateo County City Selection Committee at 4:05 p.m.

3) Oral Communications and Announcements

Vacancy list of positions that will be agendized on the April City Selection Committee agenda were read by Vice Chair Sue Vaterlaus.

1) Roll Call – The following cities/towns were present: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Absent: Daly City and East Palo Alto

2) Selection of two (2) Council Members, representing San Mateo County City Selection Committee to serve on the CASA Legislative Task Force, formed by Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) Executive Board and Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)

Daly City arrived at 4:10 p.m.

Chair Glenn Sylvester presiding over the meeting.

Mayor Donna Colson, City of Burlingame; Council Member Cliff Lentz, City of Brisbane; Council Member Catherine Mahanpour, City of Foster City; Council Member Richa Awasthi, City of Foster City; Council Member Juslyn Manalo, City of Daly City; Council Member Laura Parmer-Lohan, City of San Carlos; Council Member Debbie Ruddock, City of Half Moon Bay; and Mayor Sue Vaterlaus, City of Pacifica were nominated from the floor.

VOTE RESULTS*

Donna Colson	Cliff Lentz	Laura Parmer-	Catherine Mahanpour	Richa Awasthi	Sue Vaterlaus	Juslyn Manalo	Debbie Ruddock
Appointed		Lohan		11,0 00000	,	1,100000	1100000
Atherton	Atherton	Belmont	Foster City	Daly City	Brisbane	Daly City	Half Moon Bay
Burlingame	Belmont	Portola Valley	Portola Valley	Foster City	Pacifica	San Carlos	
Colma	Brisbane	Redwood City	Redwood City	Woodside			
Hillsborough	Burlingame	San Bruno					
Menlo Park	Colma	San Carlos					
Millbrae	Half Moon Bay	S. San Francisco					
Pacifica	Hillsborough						
San Bruno	Menlo Park						
San Mateo	Millbrae						
S. San Francisco	San Mateo						
Woodside							

* East Palo Alto was absent. To be appointed, majority of eleven (11) votes are needed. Since Mayors/proxies were voting for two (2) Council Members, only one (1) candidate received the majority. Mayor Donna Colson, City of Burlingame received the majority and was appointed. Second election was held to fill the remaining one (1) position.

Second Election:

Mayor Sue Vaterlaus, City of Pacifica, withdrew her nomination

VOTE RESULTS**

Cliff Lentz	Laura Parmer- Lohan	Richa Awasthi	Juslyn Manalo	Catherine Mahanpour	Debbie Ruddock
Atherton Brisbane Burlingame Colma Half Moon Bay Hillsborough Menlo Park Millbrae Pacifica	Belmont Portola Valley Redwood City San Bruno San Carlos S. San Francisco Woodside	Foster City	Daly City		
San Mateo					

****** East Palo Alto was absent. To be appointed, majority of eleven (11) votes are needed. Since no candidate received the majority of eleven (11) votes, the committee unanimously decided to

hold a third election to fill the remaining one (1) position.

<u>Third Election</u>:

Council Members Juslyn Manalo, City of Daly City and Catherine Mahanpour, City of Foster City, withdrew their nominations

VOTE RESULTS***

Cliff Lentz Appointed	Laura Parmer-Lohan	Richa Awasthi	Debbie Ruddock
Atherton	Belmont		
Brisbane	Daly City		
Burlingame	Hillsborough		
Colma	Portola Valley		
Foster City	Redwood City		
Half Moon Bay	San Carlos		
Menlo Park	S. San Francisco		
Millbrae			
Pacifica			
San Bruno			
San Mateo			
Woodside			

******* East Palo Alto was absent. To be appointed, majority of eleven (11) votes are needed. Council Member Cliff Lentz, City of Brisbane received the majority and was appointed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:51 p.m.