SAN MATEO COUNTY

CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Glenn R. Sylvester, Chairperson Sue Vaterlaus, Vice Chairperson

Sukhmani S. Purewal, Secretary 400 County Center Redwood City, 94063 650-363-1802

TO: MAYORS OF SAN MATEO COUNTY

FROM: SUKHMANI S. PUREWAL, SECRETARY

SUBJECT: MEETING OF THE CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

DATE: MARCH 14, 2019

Vice Mayor Glenn Sylvester, Chairperson of the San Mateo County City Selection Committee called for a meeting of the Committee at **4:00 p.m.** on **Thursday, March 14, 2019**, at Board of Supervisors Chambers, Hall of Justice, 400 County Center Redwood City, CA 94063.

AGENDA

- 1) Roll Call
- 2) Selection of two (2) Council Members, representing San Mateo County City Selection Committee to serve on the CASA Legislative Task Force, formed by Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) Executive Board and Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)
- 3) Oral Communications and Announcements
 - i. Public Comment Opportunity for the public to address the San Mateo County City Selection Committee.
 - ii. Any subject not on the agenda may be presented at this time by members of the City Selection Committee. These topics cannot be acted upon or discussed, but may be agendized for a later meeting date.

If you have any questions or require additional information, contact Sukhmani S. Purewal at (650) 363-1802.



Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 800 San Francisco, CA 94105 415.778.6700



Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 700 San Francisco, CA 94105 415.820.7900

February 28, 2019

Dear Bay Area Local Elected Officials,

The Bay Area faces many pressing regional challenges such as crowded roadways and public transit, the lingering threat of earthquakes and raising tides, to name a few. But the housing shortage has reached crisis proportions. During our remarkable run of economic expansion since the Great Recession ended in 2010, the Bay Area has added 722,000 jobs but constructed only 106,000 housing units. With housing supply and demand that far out of whack, home prices and rental costs have shot through the roof and a wide swath of our fellow Bay Area residents from long-time residents, newcomers and young people are suffering. As well, more people are being forced to move further away in search of affordability and endure crushing long-distance commutes that also exacerbates congestion and GHG production.

The traffic and housing challenge is well known to you. Perhaps less well known is the effort led by ABAG and MTC to bring together a blue-ribbon panel of local elected officials, housing experts, and leaders from across the Bay Area who worked together for almost two years to build an actionable consensus around (1) increasing housing production at all levels of affordability, (2) preserving existing affordable housing, and (3) protecting vulnerable populations from housing instability and displacement.

This group named itself CASA, the Committee to House the Bay Area and the compact the group committed to each other can be found online at https://mtc.ca.gov/casa

Both the Metropolitan Transportation Commission and the ABAG Executive Board have authorized their respective Chair and President to sign the compact. In addition, the ABAG Executive Board directed the formation of a task force of elected officials from Bay Area cities and counties to follow, become informed and to engage in the legislative process that is essential for the CASA compact to be implemented. Similarly, MTC's CASA motion included direction to staff to do additional outreach to local elected officials and engage with them during the legislative process.

Accordingly, on behalf of MTC and ABAG, we respectfully invite each county's Boards of Supervisors to appoint one representative and each county's City Selection Committee to appoint two representatives to serve on the CASA Legislative Task Force (Task Force).

To encourage the presence of new perspectives on the Task Force, nominating bodies are encouraged to appoint members who are not currently serving on the ABAG Executive Board or on MTC. The participation of elected officials from a wide range of city sizes is encouraged as well. The Task Force will be chaired by ABAG with a member of MTC serving as the Vice Chair, and each will have an appointment to the Task Force with a goal of creating a well-rounded committee. The Task Force will seek to meet monthly during the current state

Task Force on CASA Compact February 28, 2019 Page 2

legislative session to receive progress reports and to engage on CASA related legislation. This feedback will be relayed to the Joint ABAG/MTC Legislation Committee, the ABAG Executive Board and MTC. Meetings will be held at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco with telephone participation available. The Task Force is subject to the Brown Act. Task Force members are not eligible for per diem.

Please submit nominees via email to ABAG Clerk of the Board, Fred Castro, at fcastro@bayareametro.gov and note "CASA Task Force Nomination" in the subject line. Deadline for submitting nominees is March 14, 2019. Appointments to the Task Force will be ratified by the ABAG Executive Board and the Metropolitan Transportation Commission at their March meetings.

Should you have any questions, please contact Alix Bockelman, Deputy Executive Director of Policy, at abockelman@bayareametro.gov.

Sincerely,

David Rabbitt

President

Association of Bay Area Governments

Scott Haggerty

Chair

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Cc:

County of Alameda, Board of Supervisors

County of Contra Costa, Board of Supervisors

County of Marin, Board of Supervisors

County of Napa, Board of Supervisors

City and County of San Francisco, Board of Supervisors

County of San Mateo, Board of Supervisors

County of Santa Clara, Board of Supervisors

County of Solano, Board of Supervisors

County of Sonoma, Board of Supervisors

Alameda County Mayors Conference
Contra Costa County Mayors Conference
Marin County Council of Mayors and Councilmembers
Napa County City Selection Committee
City and County of San Francisco--Mayor
San Mateo County City Selection Committee
Cities Association of Santa Clara County
Solano County City Selection Committee
Sonoma County City Selection Committee