SAN MATEO COUNTY

CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

Liza Normandy, Chairperson Diane Papan, Vice Chairperson

Sukhmani S. Purewal, Secretary 400 County Center Redwood City, 94063 650-363-1802

TO: MAYORS OF SAN MATEO COUNTY

FROM: SUKHMANI S. PUREWAL, SECRETARY

SUBJECT: MEETING OF THE CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

DATE: JUNE 30, 2017

FINAL MINUTES

Vice Mayor Liza Normandy, Chairperson of the San Mateo County City Selection Committee called for a meeting of the Committee at **6:15 p.m.** on **Friday, June 30, 2017**, at Sapore Italiano Ristorante, 1447 Burlingame Avenue, Burlingame, CA 94010.

1) Roll Call – The meeting was called to order at 6:24 p.m. The following cities/towns were present: Belmont, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Portola Valley, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Absent: Atherton, Brisbane, Colma, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Pacifica, Redwood City, San Bruno, and San Carlos.

2) Approval of the minutes for the meeting of May 19, 2017

Motion: Hillsborough **Second:** Daly City

Ayes: Belmont, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae,

Portola Valley, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None

Absent: Atherton, Brisbane, Colma, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Pacifica, Redwood City, San

Bruno, and San Carlos.

3) Selection of one (1) Council Member to serve as an *Alternate* on the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) representing *Cities* fulfilling Menlo Park Council Member Ray Mueller's remaining term through May, 2019

i. Council Member Harvey Rarback, City of Half Moon Bay, is seeking appointment

Motion to declare the election by acclamation: Belmont

Second: Burlingame

Ayes: Belmont, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae,

Portola Valley, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None

Absent: Atherton, Brisbane, Colma, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Pacifica, Redwood City, San

Bruno, and San Carlos

- 4) Selection of two (2) Council Members to serve on the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) representing *Cities* for a term of two (2) years beginning July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2019
 - i. Mayor Pradeep Gupta, City of S. San Francisco, is seeking reappointment
 - ii. Council Member Wayne J. Lee, City of Millbrae, is seeking reappointment

Motion to declare the election by acclamation: San Mateo

Second: Belmont

Ayes: Belmont, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae,

Portola Valley, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None

Absent: Atherton, Brisbane, Colma, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Pacifica, Redwood City, San

Bruno, and San Carlos

5) Selection of two (2) Council Members to serve as *Alternates* on the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) representing *Cities* for a term of two (2) years beginning July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2019

i. Council Member Carlos Romero, City of East Palo Alto, is seeking reappointment

Menlo Park Councilmember Catherine Carlton's nomination was accepted from the floor by Chair Liza Normandy.

Motion to declare the election by acclamation: Hillsborough

Second: East Palo Alto

Ayes: Belmont, Burlingame, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae,

Portola Valley, San Mateo, South San Francisco, and Woodside.

Noes: None

Absent: Atherton, Brisbane, Colma, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Pacifica, Redwood City, San

Bruno, and San Carlos

6) Oral Communications

None

The meeting was adjourned at 6:28 p.m.