JOINT STATEMENT FROM SAN MATEO COUNTY SUPERVISOR DAVE PINE, ELECTED OFFICIALS AND COMMUNITY LEADERS ON DEVELOPMENT OF REDWOOD CITY SALT PONDS

We oppose development on the Redwood City salt ponds, because we don't build on San Francisco Bay.

Cargill Salt and luxury home developer DMB have colluded with the Trump Administration to weaken Clean Water Act protections for San Francisco Bay. They are again proposing to build on Bay salt ponds where massive public opposition stopped their 12,000-home project in 2012.

New housing on the Redwood City salt ponds would put people at risk from rising seas, destroy habitat for fish and wildlife, lack an adequate water supply, and worsen traffic. To combat climate change and create more resilient and equitable communities, the Bay Area needs more affordable housing near transit hubs and city centers, not on Bay wetlands.

Redwood City Mayor Ian Bain has said publicly that he does not want to see the salt ponds rezoned for housing and prefers to see Cargill donate or sell the land for wetlands restoration.

We urge Redwood City to reject proposals for development on the salt ponds, and restore them as wetlands for Bay Area residents and future generations.

Individuals

Anna Eshoo Jared Huffman Mark DeSaulnier Ro Khanna Zoe Lofgren	U.S. House of Representatives (CA-18) U.S. House of Representatives (CA-2) U.S. House of Representatives (CA-11) U.S. House of Representatives (CA-17) U.S. House of Representatives (CA-19)
Nancy Skinner Marc Berman Kansen Chu	State Senate State Assembly State Assembly
Phil Ting	State Assembly
Sally Lieber	Former State Assemblymember, Mountain View
Robert Redford	Director, Actor, Producer
Dave Pine	San Mateo County Board of Supervisors
Carole Groom	San Mateo County Board of Supervisors President
Warren Slocum	San Mateo County Board of Supervisors
David Canepa	San Mateo County Board of Supervisors
John Gioia	Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors
Kathrin Sears	Marin County Board of Supervisors
Aaron Peskin	San Francisco Board of Supervisors
Susan Gorin	Sonoma County Board of Supervisors
Bill Widmer	Atherton Mayor
Rick DeGolia	Atherton Vice Mayor
Elizabeth Lewis	Atherton City Council
Jesse Arreguín Michael Brownrigg	Berkeley Mayor Burlingame City Council
Michael Diowinigg	

Lisa Gauthier East Palo Alto Mayor Fremont City Council Vinnie Bacon Deborah Ruddock Half Moon Bay City Council Rav Mueller Menlo Park Mayor Menlo Park City Council Betsy Nash Cecilia Taylor Menlo Park City Council Margaret Abe-Koga Mountain View City Council Dan Kalb Oakland City Council Eric Filseth Palo Alto Mayor London Breed San Francisco Mayor Sam Liccardo San Jose Mayor San Mateo City Council Eric Rodriguez Daniel Yost Woodside Mayor Karen Holman Mid-Peninsula Regional Open Space District Yoriko Kishimoto Mid-Peninsula Regional Open Space District James Dudlev Redwood City Parks, Rec., and Cmty. Services Commission Redwood City Parks, Rec., and Cmty. Services Commission Matthew Greenberg Dennis McBride Redwood City School District Trustee Menlo Park Parks Commission Jennifer Johnson Josie Gaillard Menlo Park Environmental Quality Commission James Payne Menlo Park Environmental Quality Commission Mike Etheridge San Mateo Planning Commission Chair

Organizations

Acterra Bay Institute California Native Plant Society Center for Biological Diversity Citizens Committee to Complete the Clean Water Action Committee for Green Foothills Defenders of Wildlife Endangered Species Coalition Fossil Free Mid-Peninsula Fresh Approach Friends of Bedwell Bayfront Park Golden Gate Audubon Society Greenbelt Alliance	e Refuge	Marin Audubon Society Marin Conservation League Pacific Merchant Shipping Association Peninsula Interfaith Climate Action Redwood City Neighbors United San Francisco Baykeeper Santa Clara Valley Audubon Society Save The Bay Sequoia Audubon Society Sierra Club Loma Prieta Chapter Sierra Club San Francisco Bay Chapter 350 Silicon Valley Transform
Add Your Name or Organization		
Name	Title	

Name	_ Title		
Organization or Affiliation			
Contact Email		_ Phone #	