

San Mateo County Measure K Oversight Committee Thursday, November 30, 2017, 6:30 p.m.

College of San Mateo, College Heights Conference Room, Building 10, Room 468 1700 West Hillsdale Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402

MINUTES

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Honorable Dan Quigg at 6:32 p.m.

Present:

Commissioners: Honorable Daniel Quigg, Michael Salazar, Ken Chin, Sam Hutkins, David Burow, Michael C. Kovalich, Manuel Ramirez, Tom Ledda, and Edward Isip.

Staff: Reyna Farrales, Deputy County Manager; Sukhmani S. Purewal, Assistant Clerk of the Board; and Sherry Golestan, Deputy Clerk of the Board

Absent:

Commissioners Naomi Patridge.

3. Welcome and Introductions, Review of Committee Bylaws

Speakers:

Reyna Farrales, Deputy County Manager

4. Swearing-in and Loyalty Oaths

Sherry Golestan, Deputy Clerk of the Board, performed the oaths of office for the following Commissioners: Tom Ledda, Sam Hutkins, Manuel Ramirez, and David Burow.

Justin Mates, Deputy County Counsel arrived.

5. Public Comment

(This item is reserved for persons wishing to address the Committee on any Committee-related matters not otherwise on this agenda, and on any listed agenda items other than those Matters Set for a Specified Time or on the Regular Agenda. Members of the public who wish to address the Committee should complete a speaker request form. Speakers are customarily limited to two minutes.)

Speakers:

Martin Fox, Belmont Thomas Weissmiller, San Mateo

6. Motion to Approve Minutes of the Meeting of February 8, 2017

<u>Speakers:</u> Chair Daniel Quigg

9 RESULT:	Approved
MOTION:	Sam Hutkins
SECOND:	Tom Ledda
AYES:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Hutkins, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, and Isip.
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	Patridge
ABSTAIN:	Burow

7. Presentation of Fiscal Year 2016-17 Annual Audit of Measure K Sales Tax Receipts and Results of Agreed-Upon Procedures on Measure K Spending

Speakers:

Juan Raigoza, County Controller Reyna Farrales, Deputy County Manager Sam Hutkins, District 2 Michael C. Kovalich, District 4 Chair Dan Quigg, District 1 David Burow, District 3 Manuel Ramirez, District 4 Jim Saco, County Budget Director

7.1 Motion to Accept Fiscal Year 2016-17 Annual Audit of Measure K Sales Tax Receipts and Results of Agreed-Upon Procedures on Measure K Spending

9 RESULT:	Approved
MOTION:	Manuel Ramirez
SECOND:	Sam Hutkins
AYES:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, and Isip.
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	Patridge

8. Presentation of Fiscal Year 2016-17 Performance Report

<u>Speakers:</u>

Reyna Farrales, Deputy County Manager Chair Dan Quigg, District 1 Tom Ledda, District 5 Michael C. Kovalich, District 4 David Burow, District 3 Martin Fox, Belmont

8.1 Motion to Create Ad Hoc Committee on Performance Measures

9 RESULT:	Approved
MOTION:	Michael Salazar
SECOND:	Manuel Ramirez
AYES:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, and Isip.
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	Patridge

• Commissioners Daniel Quigg, Distirct 1; David Burow, District 3; and Michael Kovalich, District 4 were appointed to serve on the Ad Hoc Committee.

9. Presentation of Measure K Education and Outreach Efforts

Speakers:

Marshall Wilson, Communications Officer Ken Chin, District 2

10. Motion to Approve 2017-18 Committee Work Plan

<u>Speakers:</u> Reyna Farrales, Deputy County Manager Chair Daniel Quigg

9 RESULT:	Approved
MOTION:	Michael C. Kovalich
SECOND:	Ken Chin
AYES:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, and Isip.
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	Patridge

11. Election of Chair and Vice Chair (effective next committee meeting)

Speakers:

Honorable Daniel Quigg

Motion to elect Sam Hutkins as the Chair

9 RESULT:	Approved
MOTION:	Dan Quigg
SECOND:	Michael C. Kovalich
AYES:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, and Isip.
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	Patridge

Motion to elect Manuel Ramirez as the Vice Chair

9 RESULT:	Approved
MOTION:	Dan Quigg
SECOND:	Tom Ledda
AYES:	Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Kovalich, Ramirez, Ledda, and Isip.
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	Patridge

12. Set Date of Next Committee Meetings

The next Measure K Oversight Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, February 8, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. at the College of San Mateo, College Heights Conference Room, Building 10, Room 468, 1700 West Hillsdale Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402

13. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 7:36 p.m.