

May 15, 2023

Honorable Don Horsley San Mateo County Board of Supervisors Hall of Justice 400 County Center Redwood City, California 94063

Subject: U.S. Department of Agriculture Designation

Dear Chairperson Horsley:

On April 3, 2023, the U.S. Department of Agriculture granted a Secretarial disaster designation for the primary counties of Calaveras, Kern, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Monterey, San Benito, Santa Cruz, Tulare, and Tuolumne and the contiguous counties of Alpine, Amador, Fresno, Inyo, Kings, Madera, Merced, Mono, Orange, San Bernardino, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Stanislaus, and Ventura due to agricultural losses caused by the Severe Winter Storms, Straight-line Winds, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides beginning February 21, 2023 and continuing.

The California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) is providing the enclosed information regarding this designation. Please inform potential applicants throughout your county of this designation and information.

Sincerely, DocuSigned by:

Mcole Watanahe
187393999939451

NICOLE WATANABE Individual Assistance Program Manager

Enclosure

cc: San Mateo County Office of Emergency Services
San Mateo County Agricultural Commissioner
Karen Ross, Secretary, California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA)

