

November 9, 2022

To: LAFCo Commissioners

From: Rob Bartoli, Executive Officer

Subject: Update on Special District Election for Alternate Member Summary – Information Only

<u>Summary</u>

With the appointment of Kati Martin to a Regular Special District member position, the Alternate Member position is vacant. LAFCo is in the process of conducting the election for this vacant seat. Three candidates were nominated by members of the Independent Special District Selection Committee for the vacancy: Virginia Chang Kiraly, San Mateo County Harbor District, Donna Rutherford, San Mateo County Mosquito & Vector Control District, and Chris Mickelsen, Coastside County Water District.

Voting for the election started on September 16, 2022 with the deadline of October 17, 2022 to return ballots. However, as majority of ballots have not been returned to LAFCo, the deadline has been extended to December 16, 2022.

Recommended Commission Action:

Receive report.

COMMISSIONERS: MIKE O'NEILL, CHAIR, CITY • ANN DRAPER, VICE CHAIR, PUBLIC • HARVEY RARBACK, CITY • DON HORSLEY, COUNTY • WARREN SLOCUM, COUNTY • KATI MARTIN, SPECIAL DISTRICT • RIC LOHMAN, SPECIAL DISTRICT • ALTERNATES: VACANT, SPECIAL DISTRICT • DIANA REDDY, CITY • JAMES O'NEILL, PUBLIC • DAVE PINE, COUNTY

STAFF: ROB BARTOLI, EXECUTIVE OFFICER • SOFIA RECALDE, MANAGEMENT ANALYST • TIMOTHY FOX, LEGAL COUNSEL •

ANGELA MONTES, CLERK