

November 9, 2022

То:	LAFCo Commissioners
10:	LAFCO Commissioners

From: Rob Bartoli, Executive Officer

Subject: CALAFCO 2022 Annual Conference Update – Information Only

<u>Summary</u>

CALAFCO held its 2022 Annual Conference in Orange County on October 19th through the 21st. This was the first in-person CALAFCO conference since 2019. Commissioners Mike O'Neill and Kati Martin and Executive Officer Rob Bartoli attended the Conference. There were several sessions on Municipal Service Reviews, a presentation regarding fire district consolidations, a mock LAFCo public hearing, and a mobile workshop and harbor tour that highlighted special district and city services along the Orange County coast.

As part of the Conference, CALAFCO Board of Directors elections were held. Those elected/reelected to the Board for a two-year term are:

Coastal Region (Includes San Mateo) – District Member representative is Michael McGill of Contra Costa LAFCo and County Member representative is Chris Lopez of Monterey LAFCo

Central Region – District Member representative is Gay Jones of Sacramento LAFCo and County Member representative is Rodrigo Espinosa of Merced LAFCo

Northern Region – City Member representative is Tom Cooley of Plumas LAFCo and Public Member representative is Josh Susman of Nevada LAFCo

Southern Region – City Member representative is Acquanetta Warren of San Bernardino LAFCo and Public Member representative is Derek McGregor of Orange LAFCo

Recommended Commission Action:

Receive report.

COMMISSIONERS: MIKE O'NEILL, CHAIR, CITY • ANN DRAPER, VICE CHAIR, PUBLIC • HARVEY RARBACK, CITY • DON HORSLEY, COUNTY • WARREN SLOCUM, COUNTY • KATI MARTIN, SPECIAL DISTRICT • RIC LOHMAN, SPECIAL DISTRICT

ALTERNATES: VACANT, SPECIAL DISTRICT • DIANA REDDY, CITY • JAMES O'NEILL, PUBLIC • DAVE PINE, COUNTY

STAFF: ROB BARTOLI, EXECUTIVE OFFICER • SOFIA RECALDE, MANAGEMENT ANALYST • TIMOTHY FOX, LEGAL COUNSEL • ANGELA MONTES, CLERK