

San Mateo County Measure K Oversight Committee Wednesday, November 17, 2021, 6:30 p.m.

Virtual Public Meeting via Zoom: https://smcgov.zoom.us/s/98350102085

**Public Dial-in option:** (669) 900-6833 **Zoom Webinar ID:** 983 5010 2085

## \*\*\*BY VIDEOCONFERENCE ONLY\*\*\*

Subject to Committee approval, this meeting of the Committee will be held by teleconference only pursuant to Government Code Section 54953(e). No physical location will be available for the meeting. However, members of the public will be able to participate in the meeting remotely via the Zoom platform. For remote public participation instructions, please see below.

## **FINAL MINUTES**

# The meeting began at 6:33 p.m.

 Motion to adopt a resolution finding that, as a result of the continuing COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency declared by Governor Newsom, meeting in person for meetings of the Measure K Oversight Committee would present imminent risks to the health or safety of attendees. Chair Michael Kovalich

Melissa Andrikopoulos, Deputy County Counsel, mentioned that San Mateo County was in the Moderate transmission tier at the time of the publishing of this agenda, and has since moved up to the substantial transmission tier, which is the second to highest tier by the CDC.

<u>Speakers:</u>

Melissa Andrikopoulos, Deputy County Counsel Sam Hutkins, District 2 Chair Michael Kovalich

**Motion: Dan Quigg / Second: Manuel Ramirez** 

Ayes [8]: Quigg, Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Grassilli, Kovalich, Ramirez,

Moore

Noes [0]

Absent [2]: Michael Salazar; Tinisch Hollins

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Kovalich led the pledge.

#### **Present:**

Commissioners: Dan Quigg, Michael Salazar (*arrived at 6:39 p.m*), Ken Chin, Sam Hutkins, Dave Burow, Bob Grassilli, Michael Kovalich, Manuel Ramirez. Wallace Moore

## **Absent:**

**Tinisch Hollins** 

Staff: Roberto Manchia, County Chief Financial Officer; Juan Raigoza, Controller; Melissa Andrikopoulos, Deputy County Counsel; Heather Ledesma, Principal Management Analyst; Marshall Wilson, County Communications Officer; and Sherry Golestan, Deputy Clerk of the Board.

4. Welcome and Introductions

**County Staff** 

Staff introduced themselves at the meeting. *Michael Salazar arrived at 6:39 p.m.* 

5. Public Comment

There were no public comments.

6. Motion to Approve Minutes of the Meeting of February 10, 2021

**Chair Michael Kovalich** 

**Motion:** Michael Salazar / Second: Wallace Moore

**Ayes [9]:** Quigg, Salazar, Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Grassilli, Kovalich,

Ramirez. Moore

**Noes** [0]

**Absent [1]: Tinisch Hollins** 

7. Presentation of 2020-21 Annual Audit of Measure K Sales Tax Receipts and Results of Agreed-Upon Procedures on Measure K Spending

Juan Raigoza, County Controller

**Speakers:** 

Juan Raigoza, Controller Chair Michael Kovalich Robert Manchia Michael Salazar David Burow Sam Hutkins

7.1 Motion to Accept 2020-21 Annual Audit of Measure K Sales Tax Receipts and Results of Agreed-Upon Procedures on Measure K Spending Chair Michael Kovalich

**Motion:** Manuel Ramirez / Second: Dan Quigg

Ayes [9]: Quigg, Salazar; Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Grassilli, Kovalich,

Ramirez, Moore

**Noes** [0]

**Absent [1]:** Tinisch Hollins

8. Presentation of Draft 2020-21 Performance Report

Roberto Manchia, County CFO

**Speakers:** 

**Robert Manchia** 

**Dave Burow** 

Michael Kovalich

**Heather Ledesma** 

**Bob Grassilli** 

**Dave Burow** 

**Chair Kovalich** 

**Michael Salazar** 

**Ken Chin** 

8.1 Motion to Create Ad Hoc Committee on Performance Measures

Chair Michael Kovalich

Ad Hoc Committee will meet on January 12, 2022 at 1:00 PM, consisting of commissioners Michael Kovalich, Ken Chin, Bob Grassilli, and Dave Burow.

Motion: Michael Kovalich / Second: Michael Salazar

Ayes [9]: Quigg, Salazar; Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Grassilli, Kovalich,

Ramirez, Moore

Noes [0]

**Absent [1]:** Tinisch Hollins

9. Presentation of 2021-22 Committee Work Plan

Roberto Manchia, County CFO

**Speakers:** 

**Robert Manchia** 

9.1 Motion to Approve 2021-22 Committee Work Plan

Chair Michael Kovalich

Motion: Michael Salazar / Second: Manuel Ramirez Ayes [9]: Quigg, Salazar; Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Grassilli,

Kovalich, Ramirez, Moore

**Noes** [0]

**Absent [1]:** Tinisch Hollins

10. Election of Chair and Vice Chair (effective next committee meeting)

Chair Michael Kovalich

**Speakers:** 

Michael Kovalich, Chair

**Robert Manchia** 

**Bob Grassilli** 

Michael Salazar

**Manuel Ramirez** 

2022 Chair: Michael Kovalich

# 2022 Vice Chair: Bob Grassilli

**Motion: Ken Chin / Second: Wallace Moore** 

Ayes [9]: Quigg, Salazar; Chin, Hutkins, Burow, Grassilli,

Kovalich, Ramirez, Moore

Noes [0]

**Absent [1]:** Tinisch Hollins

11. Set Date of Next Committee Meetings - February 9, 2022 at 6:30 p.m.

# **Speakers:**

Robert Manchia

12. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 7:44 p.m.