

June 8, 2022

To: LAFCo Commissioners

**From**: Rob Bartoli, Executive Officer

**Subject:** Appointment of Public Member and Alternate Public Member

## **Summary**

This item was continued from the May 18, 2022, LAFCo Meeting.

Section 56334 of the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg (CKH) Act sets forth that LAFCo terms shall be four years ending on the first Monday in May, with the provision that members shall serve until their replacement is appointed. Currently both the regular public member and alternate public member terms require appointment for the term ending 2026. Pursuant to LAFCo policy, staff distributed and posted a notice of the vacancy dated January 31 for submittal of applications by April 18. Notices were distributed by mail to cities, special districts, and the County. In addition, the announcement was posted on social media reaching San Mateo County residents.

Chair O'Neill and Commissioners Horsley and Lohman served on the Public Member Recruitment Committee to interview applicants for the regular and alternate public member positions.

The Commission received four applications in response to the release and notice. After conducting interviews with the applicants and careful consideration of their applications, the Committee recommends Ann Draper be reappointed the regular public member based on her broad professional experience as a city and county planner; serving as member and chair of numerous civic organizations; and her understanding of the LAFCo process from county, city, and special district perspectives.

The Committee recommends James O'Neill be reappointed as the Alternate Public Member based on his understanding of LAFCo and his experience in accounting and auditing as well as his experience with the San Mateo County Civil Grand Jury.

COMMISSIONERS: MIKE O'NEILL, CHAIR, CITY • ANN DRAPER, VICE CHAIR, PUBLIC • HARVEY RARBACK, CITY • DON HORSLEY, COUNTY

• WARREN SLOCUM, COUNTY • JOSHUA COSGROVE, SPECIAL DISTRICT • RIC LOHMAN, SPECIAL DISTRICT

ALTERNATES: KATI MARTIN, SPECIAL DISTRICT • DIANA REDDY, CITY • JAMES O'NEILL, PUBLIC • DAVE PINE, COUNTY

STAFF: ROB BARTOLI, EXECUTIVE OFFICER • TIM FOX, LEGAL COUNSEL• ANGELA MONTES, CLERK

Page 2

Government Code Sections 56325 (d) requires an affirmative vote from the majority of the Commission, including an affirmative vote from at least one each of the County, City, and Special District members to appoint a public member.

## **Recommended Commission Action**

By motion, make appointments to the LAFCo Public Member and Alternate Public Member positions