

## November 9, 2016

To: LAFCo Commissioners

Martha Poyatos, Executive Officer JL Royato From:

Subject: Appointment of Budget and Legislative Committees for 2017

This staff report requests that the Commission appoint members to serve on the Budget and Legislative Committees.

The Budget Committee provides direction to staff in preparation of the Commission's budget for the 2016-17 fiscal year. This committee meets once prior to the March meeting and once before the May meeting. In addition, it may be necessary to meet prior to the September meeting to address budget revisions that might result due to the difference between estimated fund balance in the May budget versus actual fund balance after the close of the fiscal year.

The Legislative Committee provides direction to staff on pending legislation affecting LAFCos and meets as needed. At times, the Committee may meet to discuss pending legislation and provide direction on a bill that that merits a position letter outside of the regular Commission meeting cycle. In these cases, the Committee takes positions based on the adopted San Mateo LAFCo legislative policies.

Both committees typically have three members representing the four types of LAFCo membership: County, City, Special District, and Public. This staff report requests that the Commission appoint Budget and Legislative Committee members for 2017.

COMMISSIONERS: JOSHUA COSGROVE, CHAIR, Special District • DON HORSLEY, VICE CHAIR, County • ANN DRAPER, Public • RICH GARBARINO, City MIKE O'NEILL, City • JOE SHERIDAN, Special District • ADRIENNE TISSIER, County

ALTERNATES: RIC LOHMAN, Special District • RAY MUELLER, City • SEPI RICHARDSON, Public • WARREN SLOCUM, County

STAFF: MARTHA POYATOS, EXECUTIVE OFFICER • REBECCA ARCHER, LEGAL COUNSEL • JEAN BROOK, COMMISSION CLERK